There’s more to blogging than you think.

There's more to blogs than you think.

As I had mentioned in my last post I had spent some time meaning to start a blog but never realized how much there was to learn first. When I do something I like to do it properly and this module Workplace Issues in Technical and Professional Communication provided me with the means to compose a well written blog. I learned that most successful blogs are focused on particular topics and that you can easily tell when the writer is truly interested in their topic of discussion by the way they write. Originally I thought writing a blog was going to be a piece of cake but studying the art of blogging made me see there was a much bigger picture. 

I was recommended to check out other successful blogs first and realized there was a blog for literally EVERY topic. Some great blogs I discovered were:

  • simplyzesty.com (New Media)
  • talkingnewmedia.blogspot.ie (New Media)
  • idratherbewriting.com (Technical Communication)
  • thecontentwrangler.com/blog (Technical Communication)

(And if you are having trouble on finding a particular blog or anything blog related I found that Google blog search worked great at google.com/blogsearch.)

The best blogging tips I found most repetitive and useful where:

  • Choose your template carefully. It’s how the blog is presented and this can have a major effect on how your audience see’s you as a blogger and a cramped blog can turn readers away, the less mess the better.
  • Write well and carefully the way you write says so much about the type of person you are and how serious people will take you.
  • It’s great to encourage comments and interaction with your readers, it provides interesting discussions and gives you an idea of what your readers really enjoy about your blog.
  • Check out other daily blogs subscribe, read and pick up tips. My best resources include; daily blog tips, blogging for beginners and writing tips.

So much goes into the thinking and writing of a good blog and reflecting back I definitely did a much better job than what I would have done without all the help and tips from my course. I highly recommend checking out other blogs first to give you a sense of what kind of blogger you want to be.

 

 

(photo credit to hallaminternet.com)

Leave a comment